

THE RECTOR AND VISITORS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF VIRGINIA

March 17, 2020

The Board of Visitors of the University of Virginia held an emergency electronic meeting on Tuesday, March 17, 2020. James B. Murray Jr., Rector, presided.

Participants were Whittington W. Clement, Mark T. Bowles, L.D. Britt, M.D., Frank M. Conner III, Elizabeth M. Cranwell, Thomas A. DePasquale, Barbara J. Fried, John A. Griffin, Louis S. Haddad, Robert D. Hardie, Maurice A. Jones, Babur B. Lateef, M.D., Angela H. Mangano, C. Evans Poston Jr., James V. Reyes, Peter C. Brunjes, and Derrick Wang.

Absent was Robert M. Blue.

Also present were James E. Ryan, Jennifer Wagner Davis, Craig Kent, M.D., M. Elizabeth Magill, Michael J. Citro, Margaret S. Grundy, Susan G. Harris, and Timothy J. Heaphy.

At 5:00 p.m., the Rector opened the meeting and asked for a motion to resume in closed session.

After adopting the following motion made by Mr. Conner and duly seconded, the voting members present plus Peter C. Brunjes, Derrick Wang, James E. Ryan, Jennifer Wagner Davis, K. Craig Kent, M.D., M. Elizabeth Magill, Michael J. Citro, Margaret S. Grundy, Susan G. Harris, and Timothy J. Heaphy went into closed session at 5:05 p.m.:

"I move that the Board of Visitors go into emergency Closed Session to discuss with University leadership specific plans regarding the University's response to the coronavirus. This discussion will include proprietary, business-related information about the Medical Center's operations and briefings by University leadership and legal counsel regarding plans to address potential imminent threats to public health and safety of persons on University Grounds or using University facilities. The relevant exemptions are Sections 2.2-3711 (A)(8) (19), and (22) of the Code of Virginia."

At 5:48 p.m., the Board left Closed Session, and, on the following motion made by Mr. Conner, all members present certified by roll call vote that the deliberations in closed session had been conducted in accordance with the exemptions permitted by the Virginia Freedom of Information Act. The members voting in the affirmative were Mr. Murray, Mr. Clement, Mr. Conner, Ms. Cranwell, Mr. DePasquale, Ms. Fried, Mr. Griffin, Mr. Haddad, Mr. Hardie, Mr. Jones, Dr. Lateef, Ms. Mangano, and Mr. Evans. Mr. Wang also voted in the affirmative:

"I move that we vote on and record our certification that, to the best of each member's knowledge, only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements and which were identified in the motion authorizing the Closed session, were heard, discussed, or considered in Closed session.

On motion, the meeting was adjourned at 5:48 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Susan G. Harris

Susan G. Harris Secretary

## SGH:ddr

These minutes have been posted to the University of Virginia's Board of Visitors website. <a href="http://bov.virginia.edu/public-minutes">http://bov.virginia.edu/public-minutes</a>