

THE RECTOR AND VISITORS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF VIRGINIA

May 17, 2021

MEMORANDUM

TO: The Health System Board:

Committee Members:

L. D. Britt, M.D., Chair

Babur B. Lateef, M.D., Vice Chair

C. Evans Poston Jr.

James V. Reyes

Robert M. Blue
A. Bobby Chhabra, M.D., Faculty
James B. Murray Jr.
Consulting Representative

Public Members:

William G. Crutchfield Jr. Tammy S. Murphy

Eugene V. Fife John E. Niederhuber, M.D.

Victoria D. Harker

Ex Officio Advisory Members:

James E. RyanK. Craig Kent, M.D.Pamela F. CiprianoM. Elizabeth MagillJennifer Wagner DavisScott A. Syverud, M.D.Wendy M. HortonDavid S. Wilkes, M.D

The Finance Committee:

Robert M. Blue, Chair
C. Evans Poston, Vice Chair
Frank M. Conner III
Robert D. Hardie
Maurice A. Jones
James V. Reyes

Thomas A. DePasquale James B. Murray Jr., Ex Officio

John A. Griffin Ellen M. Bassett, Faculty Representative

Louis S. Haddad

and

The Remaining Members of the Board:

Whittington W. Clement Barbara J. Fried

Mark T. Bowles Angela Hucles Mangano Elizabeth M. Cranwell Mazzen S. Shalaby

FROM: Susan G. Harris

SUBJECT: Minutes of the Joint Meeting of the Health System Board and the Finance

Committee on May 17, 2021

The Health System Board and the Finance Committee of the Board of Visitors of the University of Virginia met, in Open Session, by electronic means, at 2:00 p.m. on Monday, May 17, 2021. Dr. L.D. Britt, Chair of the Health System Board, presided.

Health System Board members present: Babur B. Lateef, M.D., Robert M. Blue, James B. Murray Jr., C. Evans Poston Jr., James V. Reyes, Abhinav B. Chhabra, M.D., William G. Crutchfield Jr., Eugene V. Fife, Victoria D. Harker, Tammy S. Murphy, John E. Niederhuber, M.D., Pamela M. Cipriano, Jennifer Wagner Davis, Wendy M. Horton, K. Craig Kent, M.D., M. Elizabeth Magill, James E. Ryan, Scott A. Syverud, M.D., and David S. Wilkes, M.D.

Finance Committee members present: Robert M. Blue, Frank M. Conner III, Robert D. Hardie, Maurice A. Jones, and Ellen M. Bassett.

Whittington W. Clement, Mark T. Bowles, Barbara J. Fried, Angela Hucles Mangano, Mazzen S. Shalaby also attended.

Present as well were Emily Abrantes, Melody S. Bianchetto, Michael J. Citro, Margaret S. Grundy, Susan G. Harris, Timothy J. Heaphy, Jason Lineen, Megan K. Lowe, Clark L. Murray, Julie W. Richardson, Debra D. Rinker, Erik Shannon, and Mary Francis Southerland.

Presenter: Douglas E. Lischke.

Opening Remarks

Rector Murray opened the meeting and welcomed all participants. He then asked Mr. Hardie to read a motion to convene in closed session.

Closed Session

At 2:02 p.m., the committees went into closed session upon the following motion made by Mr. Hardie, duly seconded, and approved.

"Mr. Chair, I respectfully move the Health System Board and Finance Committee into a closed meeting to discuss proprietary, business-related information and legal issues regarding a potential acquisition by UVA Health where disclosure at this time would adversely affect the competitive position of UVA Health, specifically:

 Strategic financial, investment, facility needs, market considerations, growth initiatives, partnerships, and other resource considerations and efforts involving the Medical Center and, more broadly, UVA Health.

The relevant exemptions to the Virginia Freedom of Information Act authorizing the discussion and consultation described above are provided for in Sections 2.2-3711(A) (8) and (22) of the <u>Code of Virginia</u>."

At 3:08 p.m., the committees concluded closed session and upon the following motion certified that the closed session included only matters identified in the motion authorizing closed session and lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements. The motion was made by Mr. Hardie and duly seconded and approved by roll call vote.

Voting in the affirmative:

James B. Murray Jr.

L.D. Britt, M.D.

Robert M. Blue Frank M. Conner III

Robert D. Hardie William G. Crutchfield Jr.

Eugene V. Fife

Pamela M. Cipriano Jennifer Wagner Davis

Wendy M. Horton K. Craig Kent, M.D.

Babur B. Lateef, M.D.

C. Evans Poston Jr.

James V. Reyes

Abhinav B. Chhabra, M.D. Victoria D. Harker

John E. Niederhuber, M.D.

M. Elizabeth Magill James E. Ryan

Scott A. Syverud, M.D. David S. Wilkes, M.D.

Motion:

"Mr. Rector, I move that we vote on and record our certification that, to the best of each Board member's knowledge, only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements and which were identified in the motion authorizing the closed session, were heard, discussed or considered in closed session."

The chair adjourned the meeting at 3:11 p.m.

SGH:ddr

These minutes have been posted to the University of Virginia's Board of Visitors website:

http://www.virginia.edu/bov/financeminutes.html

http://www.virginia.edu/bov/hsb minutes.html